The Personal Finance Expo for teens

Nords

Moderator Emeritus
Spouse and I have been attending semi-annual home shows downtown for over 20 years. She gets ideas, I get to see new products, and we both get to see most of the contractors side-by-side for comparison. Our kid also gets hours of free entertainment, and it's been fun watching her focus shift over the years from free balloons to free pencils to writing her own contest entries to buying her own snacks to cool home-improvement products to cool engineering.

When I came across an ad for the Personal Finance Expo (Personal Financial Expo 2009) I realized that most of its content was aimed at teens & young adults. A high-school senior, she's at the age where she's as tired of listening to us as we are of [-]preaching at[/-] talking with her, and an outside authority is the perfect way for her to learn the same parental info from someone she's actually interested in listening to.

The car trip down really set the mood when spouse found several scattered receipts from McDs, Jamba Juice, & Starbucks. Apparently our kid is too busy in the mornings to make herself a lunch/snacks, and "nobody" eats the school lunch because it's just not [-]cool[/-] healthy. (Somehow McDs is considered healthier than the school lunch. Or maybe she just likes seeing cute guys in uniforms.) We have no idea how much cash she's been burning through because she has no idea either. She manages to put 80% of her earnings in her Roth IRA but she's slow to get around to it, and she's just not quite there on budgeting and tracking. These discussions make her grumpy, too, so it's not such a good environment for segues to LBYM, asset allocation, and SWRs.