Unknown financial hero

When I was in elementary school, our teacher took us on a field trip to the local bank and we opened a savings account. Then about once a month, we could give money to the teacher and she would deposit it into our accounts. I remember having $89 in that account when I graduated high school.

For me it was the anti-heroes that made the biggest impact.

I started my legal career a couple of years after the 1987 sharemarket crash which precipitated the worst economic conditions my home country had seen in decades. As a young lawyer, I was put to work on corporate insolvencies and mortgagee sales - seeing first hand people loosing their businesses, their investments and their homes was a lesson I will never forget. More than two decades later, I can still recall some of the names and faces of those who lost everything because they were unable to service their debt. I sometimes wonder whether any of them managed to pick themselves up again.

While I have often used leverage when buying real estate (and am comfortable still carrying mortgage debt into retirement), I have always given myself a big margin of safety. I could have been richer and/or retired a few years earlier if I had been a more aggressive investor, but I have never lost sleep because of the size of my debts.

Bruce Williams, used to listen to him all the time when I was a teenager.

Last edited:
Growing up I was always good with money. Growing up poor will do that. I lost my way in college. Had grandeur ideas of a large income when I graduated and justified my spending.
Got that straightened out. Got a job, home, family and was steady sailing. 401k, some savings, roth, etc.

Got a new boss that I can't stand, but really liked my job. Didn't see eye to eye with him, had a rough year at work and he wrote me up to HR and "put me on watch".