When to use tax exempt funds

To be fair though, many early retirees are in the 15% tax bracket or lower and would typically pay 0% on capital gains anyway... though it is nice that you can do more low tax cost Roth conversions because of your tax losses.

Thanks for pointing this out. I have gotten so used to paying cap gains in the 33% bracket I didn't realize there was a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. I hope that tax break still exists when I have more control over my income when I retire. Until then I am a tax loss harvesting farmer. ;)

This scenario does not work for many retirees. If one has SS or pension income or rental income sure. But for retirees relying on their portfolio for the majority of their income....not so much.

You are limited a $3,000 capital loss in any year. By carrying over loss amounts beyond $3,000, you are in effect giving the govt. an interest free loan until the next year.

So in 2008-2009, if you had a huge unexpected expense of say $50,000....then selling at a huge loss may result in many future years of TLH. Not something I would want to do.

Ditto

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum

I don't have any cash nor fixed income in any taxable account. That is, no savings account, no CDs, no bonds, no bond funds, etc. The reason is taxes. I don't want to earn any interest or dividends that increase my income and cause me to pay more taxes.

I understand in theory why this makes sense. However, when I do the math, it doesn't seem to work out that way for me. I have CDs in taxable accounts earning between 2.25-3%. I also have intermediate term muni bonds paying 1.23% tax free. In my tax bracket, that equates to about 2% equivalent yield. So it's still lower than my lowest earning CD.