Join Early Retirement Today

23 and trying to learn early....
Old 09-22-2009, 01:17 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

23 and trying to learn early....

Hi I am 23 years old, Im a Federal Agent, and im trying to learn a little more about what I should be doing to get on the right track with retirement. I would like to learn more about TSP and stocks, as well as wheather or not to get a CD, IRA. Should I invest...save.....any information is greatly appreciated.

My annual salary is 65k-70k, I have a TSP account with 6k to date in it, putting 10% with 5% match from agency. Plan to max at 15% within the next 7 months. I have a wife, and a baby on the way. No mortgage, just renting, bills are high for now but within the next year, will be reducing by almost 50%. My savings now is only 2k, but after next year will be able to maximize. Please give any information on a better start or if I am starting somewhat well already. Thank you.
ocsk8er03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-22-2009, 07:46 AM   #2