24 years old going on 25 with no kids, and I want to retire by 45.

Status
Not open for further replies.

GhostPepper

Confused about dryer sheets
24 years old going on 25 with no kids, and I am a newbie to investing!

Hi,

I'm currently a part-time college student starting from scratch again in terms of school because my associate's degree from a junior career college was merely nationally accredited and almost a complete waste of 30 grand. It had me start at a slightly higher pay than others who worked the same dead-end, $9-11/hr (I started at $11) job position out of college, that's it. I merely started my current degree program this past May and will gradually make my way to full-time status next year and have about 4 or 5 years left to complete both my associate's and bachelor's degrees. The total tuitions of both degrees combined look to be about 35K or so. I plan on a master's degree next in IT, possibly in management.

I am currently working fulltime at about 34K a year as a program assistant in the Washington D.C. area! Yes, low-ish pay and pricey area for a very hectic and demanding job. I just moved back in with my parents and other family members again, unfortunately, because my past and current job salaries could not accomodate the living expenses and savings without a roommate. I have had associates who had terrible experiences with finding roommates that they do not know at first and all my current friends already have their own places.

My debt in student loans is just beginning as I started just this past May as a part-time student.

In terms of assets, I currently have about:
*45K in the Money Market account
*20K in a bond with merely $50 a month return in interest (dropped from $200 bucks a month, then $160 a month and continually to this $50 because of the economy).
*I have a friend who currently owes me close to 11K (jobless for almost 8 months and extremely low-paying job that is part-time).
So total = 76K in net worth.