Join Early Retirement Today

25 & want to retire at 45
Old 04-03-2011, 05:34 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

25 & want to retire at 45

Hi all,

I'm a newbie at Megacorp (started full-time January 2010), and I have this crazy idea in my head that I'd like to retire in ~20 years (at age 45). I've been maxing out a Roth 401k ($16.5k) + Roth IRA ($5k), am managing to push $2.6k/yr into a taxable account, and am currently building up my emergency fund to smooth out any bumps along the way. I haven't yet been able to start saving for some other things I'd like to save for (house, vacations, new car.. -- on hold until I'm happy with my e-fund), but I figure I could do worse than to "over-save" for retirement now and change my mind later.

I have no doubts that my current savings rate combined with my current lifestyle (<$40k/year) will put me in a solid position by age 60 when I can start withdrawing my 401k/IRA, but I'm a bit lost as to how to bridge the 15-year gap between 45 and 60. I know I'm not putting away enough in the taxable account to cover it (but plan to increase that over the next few years), but what is the typical plan for that (not that retiring at 45 is typical, but maybe on this forum!).

Is my best option just to save more in a taxable account in addition to what I'm already doing?

Thanks,
Optimist
OptimistPrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!