Join Early Retirement Today

27 year old CPA
Old 10-01-2012, 11:56 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

27 year old CPA

I stumbled across this site a few months ago and I'm finally ready to make my entry. I am a 27 year old CPA, married, and hoping to be the opposite of my "crap I'm in my 50's and have saved $0 for retirement" parents. I made some not so bright choices in college, though the student loan debt is ultimately worth it as it has brought me career success, but now I've embraced the LBYM lifestyle and am shooting for an early retirement.

My personal situation is a bit unique because my husband and I live in different states due to our careers (Army bases aren't exactly located close enough to big cities for my corporate accountant career). So we're working extra hard to overcome the fact that we have to pay for 2 households and monthly travel to see one another.

Here's a few stats and our goal RA:

Ages: 27/28
Income: 85k/56k
Current Savings: $55k
Debt: 189k (133k mortgage & 56k student loans). SL's will be paid off in 5 yrs and mortgage payoff will coincide with retirement.
Projected RA: 56/57 (or earlier!)

My husband will have a pension from the military and I will get a decent sized payout when my current company sells, but I don't factor that into our calculations. Same for Social Security. Pure bonuses.

We have just recently upped our savings to a little over 25% of our gross income in after-tax dollars, in a variety of levels of liquidity. With the political climate as it is, I'd rather not defer taxes since the future of my tax rates is uncertain. Plus I like knowing the money in my retirement accounts is purely mine.

I look forward to learning from you all and making strides towards reaching our goals!
amh031000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!