27 yr old from PA says Hi!

joetab24

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello everyone...I found my way here from the Motley Fool web site.

Last month I finally opened my eyes and realized I needed to get my act together financially. In the past month I've been quite busy. I've set a 403(b) account at work (I'm a teacher), established Roth IRAs for my wife and for myself. We maxed the Roths for 04 and put our tax return into our 05 accounts.

Just yesterday I filled out a W4 form at work so that I could increase my 403b contributions by $70 a month. As you can see I am eager to change my careless ways.

Oh yeah, I am most proud of the fact that unlike most of our friends and family members we purchased a house we could actually afford, rather than borrowing all the money that the lenders were offering. Our only debts are our house (we owe 89K) and our car (about 12.5 K). I wish I would have found this site before buying the new car. Live and learn.

Anyway, I am excited to be a part of the "club" and, although I enjoy teaching, I've got the early retirement bug. BIG TIME!

Joe:
Congrats on getting smart at 27! I have to confess that I was well past 30 and bought my first house when I realized that negative net worth was a problem. I missed a lot of opportunities between 27 and 30, but first thing I did was pay off debt.

Anyway, you are much smarter than I! Welcome!!!!

Joetab,

You're doing well. You are getting started at a really young age. It seems like no matter how young people start, they always beat themselves up for not starting earlier.

That being said, I didn't get started until I was 38 ! I'll still make it out by 56, but I wouldn't have to be saving at such a high rate if I had started sooner.

I look forward to your posts,

-helen