29 Year Old Looking For Wise Counsel :)

whytdrumer

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the forum, so i wanted to introduce my self and also get some advice and feedback on where I am, and how I can improve.

Sometimes I get discouraged when I read stories of people retiring in the 30's because I'm 29 right now and it seems that the other late-20's folks are way ahead of me. I'm married with two kids (20 months and 4 months, and we would like to have more). My wife works part-time at a christian private school and I work in marketing as well as do some consulting on the side.

Other folks my age make salaries twice of mine and have two working adults, so it gets discouraging sometimes because I feel behind. We don't have any debt except the home and a few investment properties, but those are rented out and are being paid down so I'm not worried.

I'd love to hear your thoughts/critiques on my budget and current situation. I’m working towards getting extra spending down to where I’m saving 50-60% of my income but this has been a challenge so I'm also focusing on increasing my income. Currently I am at 40-48% (it varies each month).

My Gross Salary: $65,000
Wife's Gross Salary: $15,000
Income from real estate: $8,400
Income from consulting: $35,000 (this varies because clients come and go)

Total Gross Income: $123,000
Total Net Income (assuming 25% tax bracket): $92,000

The below numbers are our monthly expenses.

Mostly Necessary: $2746

• Mortgage: $1250
  • Groceries: $300
  • Health Insurance: $605
  • Car expenses (insurance and gas): $250
  • Phones: $60
  • Internet: $72
  • Netflix: $9
  • Utilities: $200 (we just moved into a new home so still calculating this)
Other Stuff: $730

• Personal spending money: $200 ($50 for me and $150 for the wife because I'm doing BJJ)
  • Dining/Date money: $100
  • Gifts: $20
  • BJJ (for me): $110