Join Early Retirement Today

34 Year Old With Inheritance Trying to Figure Things Out
Old 06-28-2013, 08:50 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

34 Year Old With Inheritance Trying to Figure Things Out

Hi, I am a single 34 year old accountant living in Nashville. My mother passed away when I was 23 years old, and I received a sizable inheritance.

My net worth is a little over $2 million with most of it tied up in rental property, and less taxes and other expenses, I gross about $64,000 per year in rental income.

I have to admit, though, my life feels just completely without purpose. I have been an accountant for about 8-9 years now, and I completely hate it. Unfortunately, every time I try to think of something else to do with my life, I can't think of anything that jumps out at me that I would enjoy, and you're not supposed to quit your job without knowing what you want to do with yourself (or so everybody tells me anyway).

I'm also scared of quitting my job because I just wouldn't have any purpose. I've had a long stretch of unemployment before, and I was depressingly bored after 8-9 months of it. Without being able to think of anything better to do with myself, I went straight back into accounting. Mostly I am doing this job not so much for the paycheck, but for health benefits, retirement account, etc. and quite frankly not to sit around at home all by myself.

But there is so much more I want to do with myself. I want to spend my time doing things I enjoy, I want to volunteer more, see some of the world, put my mind towards solving some real problems in the world, etc.

I guess I just wonder if there's anyone out there who got an inheritance at a young age like that and what you did to find purpose with yourself. Thanks.
GoCubs23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!