Join Early Retirement Today

403b's
Old 06-02-2012, 07:23 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

403b's

Hi there, my name is Suzanne and I am a school teacher. I have some of my retirement money in a 403,b. I plan on retiring when I am 66 which is in 4 years. Can I take this 403b and transfer it to a Roth IRA and pay the taxes this year?

Thanks.
SHSpence is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-02-2012, 09:24 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Try 403bwise.com for a lot of detailed 403b questions. My wife could not move her 403b straight into a Roth until she retired. She rolled the 403b nto a traditional IRA and we convert a little each year into a Roth. This may be a better approach tax wise as if you are converting a lot of money it may kick your income into a higher tax bracket.
Old 06-03-2012, 01:23 AM   #3
gone traveling

If an annuity, check whether your 403(b) has surrender charges. Who's it with?
westcoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:10 AM   #4