41 & Mostly retired. What to do now?

jetpack

Recycles dryer sheets
I was a computer programmer and made out great with dotcoms. Still running a few websites, but mostly on autopilot now. Now trying to figure out
what to do with my life post retirement. I'm single w/ no kids. I have traveled a bit, but don't really enjoy being a tourist, and it's not that fun travelling alone.

What do you all do for fun?

First let me say you may have the best problem in the world. Financially enough to get by just fine.

For fun? I have a wife and 3 young kids and a full time job, so free time is relatively limited compared to your lifestyle. If I have a few hours to blow, you might find me sitting on the back deck with a coffee reading a book or watching the wildlife. Or inside playing a computer game or catching up on a tv show I enjoy. In the evenings when it cools down, I might be out walking, headed to the park to play some tennis, or catching up on some yard work or landscaping.

In the middle of the day, I might be cooking something delicious and expecting company to arrive any minute for a lunch or dinner party.

We love to travel but it is a little more cumbersome (and expensive!) with 3 young kids, so I haven't been doing much of that lately.

Here's a 3 step plan for you:

Get married and have kids
Get a job
Save for early retirement
:D

Seriously, congrats and what a nice problem to have! :)

I'm sure people like Buffet, Bill Gates, Sergey Brin, Ryan Crest etc don't need to work for money anymore but they do it because it's their passion and quest in life. I guess it depends on what you're passionate about, what you want to do in life and how you see yourself in the next 5,10 and 20 years?

For me I would work part-time in a completely different sector (I'm in IT too but not as fortunate lol) and helping others especially the future generation by teaching/mentoring what I know.

Via a blog or site share your knowledge or research of a hobby or interest.