Join Early Retirement Today

42 year old, saved $3M, thinking to retire next year
Old 03-18-2014, 07:12 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

42 year old, saved $3M, thinking to retire next year

Dear all, I'm a newbie here and am obsessed with this forum!

I'm a 42 year old single woman, no kids. Have a very stressful job and am contemplating on retiring next year. Here are my numbers:

401K:$500K
Brokerage account: $2M with about a 1% annual management fee but their performance has been very good
Of which AA is about 60 (equity)/40(fixed income)
EF cash in saving account and munis: $500k

Have a pension that will come in at age 65, about $1000/m if I stop working next year. SS will kick in some time at or after 65, about $1500/m I think.

Currently not owning any real estate, no car, and no debt. My expenses will be about $70K a year after taxes, including travel (which I plan to do a LOT after I retire), rent, health care, etc. In a year or two I may buy a property for $500k.

So, do I have enough to retire next year?
JPearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!