Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

43 year old, married w/ teens and can't stop thinking about our next adventure
Old 01-31-2015, 09:52 AM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

43 year old, married w/ teens and can't stop thinking about our next adventure

Hello from FREEZING cold Massachusetts!!! We are about to get another foot of snow, so it is only normal for me to start thinking about Florida

I am a personal finance teacher, and computer teacher. I talk about saving for retirement with my students daily....and now I am just creating an obsession about my own retirement plan.

I am wondering if any of you have ever been in my shoes:
My husband is so unhappy with his present job. I love teaching, but can teach anywhere. Our ultimate goal is to move to Florida when both of my teens graduate. Does the five years go by fast? Did any of you start a new career, keep expenses low and move to a more affordable state? The problem is, I am unsure if my husband will find the type of employment in Florida--but trust me, all we think about is the beach, fishing and a semi-retirement lifestyle.

My husband and I will probably always work; it's just in our nature. But I am thinking of a lower salary, simpler lifestyle, and low expenses. Just a less stressful job for my husband is like a retirement

I am so sorry for rambling, I just wanted to know if any of you have dealt with this too.
I love this forum, I read your postings often

Sincerely,
Lisa
moneymama is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!