Join Early Retirement Today

45 Year Old Engineer Who Wants to be a Farmer when She Grows Up
Old 01-08-2011, 05:37 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

45 Year Old Engineer Who Wants to be a Farmer when She Grows Up

I've been a hard charger most of my life. I decided I wanted to be an engineer when I was a sophomore in high school. I got my degree in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Note Dame and I paid for it by going through the Air Force ROTC program and working in the Physic Lab. I got married while I was in college and had my daughter in the middle of the last semester - missed one week of school, graduated on schedule and was commissioned into the Air Force May 1987.

While waiting 9 months for my active duty orders, I continued to work for the Physics Lab for a few months then I taught a couple classes at a community college and waited tables. I then spent 10 years active duty military. I got my Master's degree at my first station where I spent 6 years working at the Weapons Lab (now known as the Air Force Research Lab) and the Nuclear Safety Agency. I then worked 4 years as a program manager where I was traveling more than half the year (literally over 180 days/year). During that time my husband did a good job of holding down the fort and we home schooled our daughter for a couple of those years (really bad school system). Some how I managed to free lance some database application development during this time too.