Join Early Retirement Today

53 yrs young on track we think ..
Old 11-04-2015, 07:29 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

53 yrs young on track we think ..

So I've been around reading this board forever . I work in banking so you think I would know a thing or two . But when it's your finances you can know so much your paralyzed to make the right move .. We recently married after 10 yrs together . we sold my home and downsized to a condo financing 168,000 we have his house that we rent. I want to keep as rental as we only owe 50,000 but he does not want to rent anymore . He wants to unload . The location is declining but so is value and the school district is bad . So I'm thinking he's right .. Unload . Considering putting funds in our Franklin investment .. It's not a huge amount of dividends but enough to maybe keep as rainy day account until we decide to retire at 62 . He can go at 55 with pension , but benefits cut off after three years now. Plus they increased pension contribution so we think stay until 62 his calculation is 3000 per month before taxes . My 401 is not much, 150,000 although my advisor is always amazed how much I have since I started late . We really want to go sooner .cars paid off no debt except mortgage . I have two parent plus loans but my kids are paying them . Guess I'm just looking Forward to second chapter career TBD but the health care with his job is a Cadillac of plans so we figure hang in longer. We just met with our advisor to review everything for fire in 9 years!!

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum
darmstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!