Join Early Retirement Today

56yo doctor nearing the light at the end of the tunnel
Old 02-10-2021, 01:17 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

56yo doctor nearing the light at the end of the tunnel

Hi everyone.

Someone on the SavingAdvice forum recommended I join the crew here. I'm 56. DW is 57. I'm not quite ready to retire yet but the numbers are starting to approach the point when I will be able to. I'm a full time physician. I'm not yet sure if I will stop working entirely or switch to part time or per diem status but we should be in a position to do that in 2-3 years.

Going PT would allow me to keep health insurance through my employer, though at a somewhat higher premium than I pay as a FT employee but still less than what we'd pay to get our own coverage. And, of course, continuing to earn income would limit what we'd have to draw from our portfolio.

I'll share more details later but for now I just wanted to introduce myself and start reading all of your posts. I look forward to sucking up all of the knowledge you all share, and hopefully contributing some of my own.
disneysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!