Join Early Retirement Today

6 months to go for ER at 41
Old 01-08-2008, 09:21 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

6 months to go for ER at 41

Hello, This is my first time posting , I have read these forums for some time though. I thought I would post and say Hi, and ask for some input. In 6 months Im planning on retiring. I am more than a little nervous.

I work for the State, and have what I beleive to be a very good retirement package. I am in a Hazardous duty field which is why I can retire so early. I have planned on retiring early for many years and its about to happen. I am very excited.

Most of my family and friends are not as supportive as i wish but my wife is very much so. She is in a similar field as me, and has about 8 years before she can retire. she will be 46.

My income when I retire will be 2200 a month after taxes, our health insurance is paid for for the rest of our lives. she brings home about 2800 a month. so all in all we bring home 5000 Dollars a month. we own our home and have very few bills. we live a mostly simple life, eventually we would like to travel the US ( after she retires.) Its not alot of money I think compared to what some here make im sure.

I read alot about people on here investing lots of money for retirement and haveing large savings. I cant say I have any of that. I do have some savings. Mostly that is for our kids education.

Im just wondering what people here think, because I get alot of negative feedback from people I know comments like (what are you going to do with yourself when you retire or Well if thats really what you want to do) I try my best to pass these comments off. I dont beleive a single person has genuinly expressed happiness for me(other than my wife). Even though they all know Ive planned on ER for years. I'm not a lazy person at all, There has not been a time in my life that I have been unemployed since i was 16 years old. I have always worked very hard.