Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

60 YO from PA and not sure when I will retire
Old 04-19-2014, 01:27 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

60 YO from PA and not sure when I will retire

Hi all. I posted an answer to another thread on here and realized I have never introduced myself properly.

I just turned 60 in January my wife turned 61 the month before that. She has stated quite emphatically that she is retiring from her high stress job at 63. I on the other hand keep changing my mind as to when my date is.

I am a partner in a CPA firm and I can pretty much make my own hours and take time off as I wish. Except January through April.(Tax Season).

I have run all the financial scenarios like a good CPA should, and I am probably on track to be FI by 63, but I just took off a couple of days after April 15th and I have to say I am not sure I am mentally ready for retirement. I am in a quandary!

I have read on here about the OMY syndrome and I can understand how you can get sucked into that. It is difficult to spend all of your life in a wealth building mode and then all of the sudden turn that off.

Anyone else have similar feelings leading up to retirement?
Jimbo125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!