An unplanned retirement

aenlighten

Recycles dryer sheets
I FIRE'd six years ago without knowing it. Worked all my life in software and enjoyed it for the most part. I knew I would retire someday, but not in my early 40s, not those 'peak earning years' (ha). After a layoff, I looked for another job. When you don't want to commute and don't want to move, it limits the possibilities greatly. There is no job worse than looking for one and finding one has always been difficult for me. I think bosses feel intimidated by me. As finding one became increasingly unlikely, I trained for another career in, what else, real estate. Meanwhile, I studied the business, finance, and investment sections at the library. By the time I got licensed, I realized I had positioned myself to not have to work. I didn't even find the Retire Early site and then this one until recently. Overall, I would probably prefer to work as long as it were something interesting, but I don't want to work just to fill time.

My greatest fear has been boredom. Fortunately, I continue to find interesting projects for myself. My greatest pleasure has been the freedom to do as I please. After working nonstop, one's passions tend to die. That is probably my greatest regret. Many people I know have died these years, and it brings a depth of experience on what is important in life, and it generally isn't work.

Look at the bright side, you never had to stress yourself out with endless calculations trying to figure out if you did have enough.

BTW I am curious if over the past 6 years how you have managed financially? ie. did your portfolio grow, were you able to withdraw what you wanted without having scrimp to make ends meet?