...and I thought I was ready

cat4ever

Recycles dryer sheets
Newbie here. Thought I was ready to pull the trigger by end of July but after reading the "62 with a 12 and 14 year old" post I'm thinking if he's not even sure, I'm not even close.

Actually I think he's way way way overly cautious and every day he waits is a day he'll regret he lost, but I'm a blunt guy.

Anyway, here's my stats...

56 YO, 17 and 19 YO, and stay at home wife.
529's fully funded for college. (100K a piece)
2.5 million in taxable IRA/401K savings and 1.1 million in a ROTH/after tax.
No mortgage or any other debts
Pension starts at 65, $36k/year (no inflation protection).
Would like to buy a rental/vacation property in the mountains.
Planning on spending about 120K/year including health insurance which I estimate $20K/year

Firecalc giving me a 100% right now. $3.6 million to $56 million after 40 years.

I HATE my job and have several passions I can't wait to pursue.

Everything looking OK? Am I missing something?

You have not missed anything.

There are just so many days in one's life. And we're not in control of those days. Misery is telling you it's time to make a change.

Go for it.

My brother in law is president of the Elk River Club. Pretty lovely mountain location with a Jack Nicklaus golf course and a private airport in NW NC. Highest ski mountains in the East are close by. elkriverclubnc.com

.... Everything looking OK? Am I missing something?

+1 I think your in good shape. $3.6m - $0.4m for rental/vacation property = $3.2m... * conservative 3.75% WR = $120k spending target... plus you have pension and SS as cherries on top.

With $1.1m in Roth and taxable accounts, you might be able to manage your income to take advantage of ACA subsidies and trim that $20k a year health insurance cost down a bit.

Also, a 72t/SEPP might help avoid having to tap the taxable accounts too much.

Last edited by a moderator:
Looks good. Pull the cord.