Join Early Retirement Today

Any ideas for a military man
Old 11-22-2005, 09:02 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Any ideas for a military man

Hi everyone.
* * I'm glad I ran across this site. I'm becoming very obcessed with the idea of early retirement. My wife is 38 and I'm 32. I've been in the Air Force for 5 years. We're hoping to be able to retire when I'm between 47-53. I've been the primary provider with the wife just now slowly getting back into her home daycare business. I'm estimating our present income to be around $48,000 with all my allowances and pays plus her small income. I've been saving for a little over two years now. My military pay is modest but I've been able to put away about $7600 in my tsp(military 401k) and 12000 in our IRA's. With the wife working I'll be able to increase my yearly savings to a total of around $13000. I'm hoping to buy a home in a few years once we're back stateside.
* * Is it even possible for me to retire at this age range? I would like to have around $50,000 a year in todays dollars at retirement. If I put in the minimun of 20 years in the Air Force then I'll get around $21,000 (about $31000 if I stayed in for 26) in a yearly pension with inflation cola and health care.
aimhigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!