Join Early Retirement Today

Considering re-retiring
Old 09-07-2018, 03:51 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Considering re-retiring

I am an computer scientist by training, who happened to get lucky with some stock options, which enabled me to retire at age 50, with some retirement benefits from my company. I was (and am) happily married, and the kids had left home for college, so for a couple of years, my wife and I traveled the world and did all the things I dreamt of doing post-retirement. I was happy; on top of the world, actually. No politics; no deadlines; no boring meetings. However, it didn’t seem to last. After about 2 years, I seemed to be not much happier than when I was working. I’m generally a reasonably happy, content guy, so this level of happiness wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t what I had given up my fat salary for. I expected more.

I think I succumbed to the phenomenon that psychologists call “Hedonic Adaptation”, or a return to a baseline of happiness (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hedonic_treadmill). In a classic study, lottery winners were seen to return to their baseline level of happiness, and it wasn’t because they squandered their wealth, it was more because of this phenomenon. In another study, if I remember correctly, happiness seemed to be tied to income only up to $100K or so per year. More than that didn’t result in greater happiness.

Anyway, two years into my first retirement, at age 52, I was approached by a friend and colleague, and offered a great job with a fantastic compensation package. I un-retired and took the job. I’m now 57 years old, 5 years into that job, and once again dreaming of what it might be like on the other side, the FIRE side. I still have the fat salary, but I now, along with the deadlines and the boring meetings, I also have huge responsibilities, which I fear might take a toll on my health. Maybe it’s just a case of the grass looking greener on the other side, but I’m thinking of retiring again.