Crazy teenagers these days..

Neongreen

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hey there,
I'm looking at ER at or around the ripe old age of 30. Can't wait, I'm just a student but I've got a couple of side 'businesses' which earn me about $15k in profit a year, so I'm keen to pour that into savings along with socking away a very high portion of my income (70-80%).

I'm not a very materialistic person - I only use a few things regularly - my computer, projector($600, I saw it on a local auction site and bought it on sight. That was before I started saving!), etc.

Thankfully over here in NZ the interest rates are pretty high at the moment - a good bank account will get you in excess of 8%, and many balanced funds are in the 10%+(Some over 22%, however these are high risk Asia-Pacific investment gigs) range. While I don't expect this to last long, I'm hoping, through shrewd investment, to keep the interest at a nice 12%.

Being 16, I really don't have any costs whatsoever, which is great because I can save most of what I earn. It is very, very tempting to spend it however - I spied the new Eee laptop in my local PC store about a week ago for a cool $600, the fun times I could have with that... but I digress.

I'm the kind of person who cannot stand working for others. Being at school at the moment is an incredible hassle - I could put my time into much more worthy things. I do have a part time (12hrs/wk) telemarketing job which pays very well (I hate it, but I need to save as much as possible at this age.).

I am investigating business options which'll provide me with a huge amount of income in the short term, so very keen to do that as the magic of compound interest is most potent, well, now.

All dollars mentioned here are NZD - so it's roughly $70 US dollars per $100 NZD. Average cost of living in NZ is probably around $40k-$50k.