Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

De-lurking, finally!!
Old 04-22-2006, 12:54 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

De-lurking, finally!!

After almost two years, thought I'd finally de-lurk and join in all the fun!!! I am a teacher, DH is a minister. SO, no big stock options in our future! We've been married a little over a year (DH is 52 and I am 45), I've been married before (2 DS - both in college). DS1 will graduate from Boston college next month, and is coming home to go to law school; DS2 is finishing his sophomore year at Gustavus Adolphus here in Minnesota - he wants to be a doctor. Glad they both know how to apply for scholarships and loans!!! My divorce in mid-2000 basically wiped out everything I had (long story - glad I have 2 great kids out of the deal) so I started over, used my meager savings to buy a house, got lucky as to the location and sold 2 years ago when both kids were gone, reaping a fairly large benefit, which I rolled over into the house we now live in. DH has never made much money, has never been married until now, and has no benefits from his church, BUT on the plus side he is a fantastic human being AND he is Frugal with a capital F. Good things!