Disney Loving gal, ready to call it quits. Opinions

bclover

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Hello all,
I've been lurking here for a few months and really enjoy the forums. So here goes my attempt at a often ask question. I apologize if this is long

Can I retire?

First, Let me say one part of this is emotional. I am a recent widow, lost my husband at 55 to cancer 13 months ago and I lost my baby brother to cancer at the 52 years young. I totally admit, I'm pissed. both were great men who did the right thing, saved, lived below their means and didn't get to see the results. So why the hell am I sacrificing only to drop dead. (lol are you running for the hills yet) what's the point?

Second I hate my job (more on that later)

So here is the information.

I am 55 years old. I am an Analytical Chemist. salary is 73,000 annually. I live in Philadelphia PA

IRA (disney stock) 12,883.00
Individual stock mutual fund 483,029.00
Annuity( yes I've been told over and over about how horrible they are) 452,328.00
IRA investment account from late husbands pension 828,953.15
my 401K 182,931.46
roth IRA 6505.00
Vanguard account 7,000

I currently put 8% pretax into my ira and 6% in my roth 401K and my company matches 6% plus an extra 3% if the company makes a profit at the end of the year.

I am also one of the "last of the mohicans" in that I do get a company pension. although it will be greatly reduced but if I wait until I'm 60 I will get an additional 1000.00

I also get social security, I haven't calculated it yet. I'm trying to figure out the rules around applying for my husbands ss. he made twice my salary so I think his benefits will be bigger. that will be my second question on this forum, LOL

I have two children. one 21 year old college junior. the second is a 25 year old special ed adult. He is an asperger kid and is for the most part working toward independent living

Last edited:
Oh forgot to give the bills.
Sorry.

Right now my monthly bills are ~4500