Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Down to near term planning now
Old 07-11-2012, 08:18 AM   #1
gone traveling

Down to near term planning now

I started planning for retirement decades ago, and now I am approaching that time in my life.

Here's my situation: millionaire next door type, always lived below our means, age 59, employed (manager at a manufacturing company), married (only once), wife works as a substitute teacher, no access to affordable health care in retirement (only COBRA for 18 months), no debt of any kind, 2 kids through college and self sufficient (at least for now), $1.5M in financial assets (~65% equities, 35% bonds + cash, most in tax deferred accouonts), vested in 3 small pensions (total about $7k/year, no inflation adjustments). I have a degree in electrical engineering and a MBA specializing in finance which has been a big help in understanding how the system works.

I would like to be positioned to retire at age 62 (3 years) with $100K in annual aincome (all sources, including social security). I like my job and may choose not to retire at age 62, but i would like to be positioned to do that in case I decide to, or in case I have to.

I have not yet done a detailed analysis of expenses, and probably don't need anywhere near $100,000, but I'd like income to be on the high side of my needs.