Early 30's trying to get on track

Jammertime

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello everyone

I'm new to this arena. I've been working to get finances in order this past year as it hasn't been something we've taken seriously until now. I'd love feedback on where we're at so far and if we're setting our selves up for ER.

Mid 30's
married, filing jointly, 1 year old child

15-22% tax bracket
Wife taking year off to stay home with child.
income for this year - 45k; though should double when she resumes work.

Current Savings rate 20%

ira/401k - 55k
- assets split between target date fund, blue chip growth fund, vanguard life strategy moderate growth.
Taxable - 5k - Vanguard Total Stock Market
3k - Vanguard prime money market

Emergency fund - 6 months (more including taxable account)

No house/rent payment
No credit cards

Debt - 25k Student Loan at fixed 1.5%

Not knowing much about the topic, I'm wondering if I should focus my attention to paying off the student loan, or continue contributing towards retirement in tax advantaged/taxable accounts.

I am an over thinker who often over estimates my risk capacity. I'm tinkering with the idea of moving all assets (taxable and tax advantaged) into Vanguard Life Strategy Moderate Growth. Or at the very least hold 60/40 across all accounts.

My concern is that I would be leaving returns on the table, however, If I am afraid to put additional savings into the market, an aggressive allocation hinders my goals.

Any helpful advice or places to look would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
The interest rate on the student loans is low enough I'd just keep paying that on it's schedule and put extra money into the market.

Having an asset allocation (AA) of 60/40 isn't a bad thing. Some would argue you should be more aggressive since you're young. But if it lets you sleep at night, that has value. You have plenty of time to ride out any dips/downturns.