Early retiree moving from Brazil

retiredgeek

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hi all,

I am 47, married, 3 kids (20, 12, 6). Retired on 42, after selling my small tech company in Brazil. I have been living on my investments since 2014. I have an NDA and taking care of investments became my "job". I am a computer programmer, specialized in data analysis, machine learning and cyber-security.
For this reason, I love all kind of number crunching that investments and retirement planning brings. I have developed all kind of scripts and spreadsheets for simulating (monte carlo and other stochastic simulations), optimizing, monitoring and calculating/minimizing taxes. Not sure it it helped, but its been fun, and at least my portfolio has been increasing.

Since 2018, I have been living in USA with a green card. This year is my first doing income tax as a resident, and after studying a lot, I have found this fantastic forum.

In Brazil, we dont have FIRE discussions. There is a huge banking industry, with thousands of mutual funds, but barely no ETF, index funds. There is no HSA, IRA, 401k, Roth IRA. So, I have been investing in stocks, reits and treasury/fixed income, all from Brazil. Mostly 32% for each of these asset class in my financial portfolio (which is 55% of my total portfolio).