Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Fat 'n Happy back in FL
Old 06-23-2018, 07:39 AM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Fat 'n Happy back in FL

A Newbie here, after living single in Boca Raton in the early 1980's to the early 1990's, got married in S. Florida then moved to Asheville then Virginia. When one acquires a life partner, one gets to make compromises. We're now in our 60's, me 65 she 67, and have retired to Daytona Beach.

We've sold all our rental properties, owner financed our commercial building and owner financed our business. Our home here is paid off and we have no debt. And we have about $400k to invest to create income to be compounded. Our draw down is expected to begin in about 10 years when the owner financing ends.

Wife is uneasy with most all investments in the markets due to our experiences in the past, from the market and from individuals. We've decided to purchase CD's and I have been watching the rates closely.

Next week, I'm planning on purchasing 3 CD's of about $80k each; a 1, 2, and 3 year term. Purepoint is offering 2.45%, 2.75% and 3%. The thought process is to ladder these in the future if rates escalate.

For emergency and fast access, I am going to keep about $8k in a local bank savings account and another $40k in 3 CD's with an 11 month terms with a 3 month interest penalty if cashed early.

This is my first post and I welcome comments.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!