Join Early Retirement Today

Finally Going to Introduce Myself
Old 05-01-2005, 03:34 PM   #1

Finally Going to Introduce Myself

Well I've already made 33 posts, so I guess it's time I introduced myself.

I'll try to make my history brief.* *Started out my career as a research scientist, but soon got hooked on computers, and switched careers.* Worked for a company writing educational computer games starting in 1982, and have since written everything from pac-man like games to firmware for operating room equipment to scientific image analysis programs.*

Began consulting in 1985, then started selling my own software, starting with a computer program called The Humor Processor -- a DOS program for writing jokes.

I've been selling Responsive Time Logger since about 1993.* Tough sledding for a year or two, but since the Internet caught on, I've been able to compete with the big boys.* I've kept things simple, and instead of hiring employees and doing a lot of advertising, I've worked from home and kept things low key.*

Other interesting events: married born-and-raised Swedish wife in '81, house burned down in Oakland Firestorm, wife had brain tumor but recovered completely.

In 1999 we moved from the rat-race SF Bay Area to small coastal town in very northern California.* *My main hobby is playing jazz trombone, but since the gigs have been drying up (jazz is dying around here, replaced by DJ's and punk rock), have been working on developing my jazz piano.

Age 51 now -- our only daughter will enter college (big $$!) in September.* I think of myself as semi-retired since I'm not developing any new software, just cruising along answering a few tech support calls each day.

So that's me.* Tried to make it interesting without blowing my own horn too much.

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!