FIRE date fast approaching

Lakedog

Full time employment: Posting here.
I have been lurking for several months so thought I would introduce myself. I am a 50 yr old fed employee planning to retire in Sept of this year. I'm single with no kids and no plans to marry again (once divorced many years ago). I'm not opposed to marriage, just haven't found the right lady.

Since I will be going early, will have a reduced pension of a little over $30k. I don't have the savings of many folks on the board (little over $500k between all accounts) but have a mortgage-free house worth over $600k on a nice lake in Alabama. My projected expenses are around $30k so I feel comfortable going now.

I am a forester and forest engineer and have lived all over the US during my career. I really did not expect to end up in Alabama but as things turned out, I like the area okay and love the lake life. My old black lab had to be put down a couple of months ago due to bone cancer, so I lost my best friend and constant companion of the last 14 yrs -- he loved the lake, boating, kayaking, etc. I have not felt ready for another lab yet but I'm sure there will be another soon.

Anyway, I just wanted to say hello and I look forward to participating from time to time. I have enjoyed reading many of your posts the last few months -- some great discussions.

Lakedog Nice..

It is doable, I left a state teaching position in NJ in Dec at 50. Yes my pension was reduced to a bit over 30K and yep not much saved more like 100K, Also no real debt House worth 400K owe 40K on it 300 a month. I sub teach now coach a track team make an extra 15K a year I can pay my bills now down in North Carolina, got out of New Jersey before the housing slump.

Great to be able to say bye bye to the rat race, you will love it.

Hello! Congrats on your early retirement plans. I'm sure you have health insurance worked out as that is a retirement buster if one doesn't.