Recycles dryer sheets

Greetings from Maine / Advice Requested

Hi All,

Long time listener, first time caller.

Great forum with tons of information.

Would like some advice on whether the experts feel we're ready...Details below:

Me: 55
Wife: 57

AA is 60% equities, 30% bonds, 10% cash - all in Vanguard mostly in index funds and we have $2.8m. I am okay with moderate swings but agree with many on this site that the stock market is richly (possibly overly) valued.

IRAs are $2m. Taxable account has $800k in it.

Soc Security site has us receiving around $45k combined per year using 65 as retirement age

No debt whatsoever. Might need new roof soon - around $20k

Have $150k in cash

I've calculated our annual expenses including taxes, recreation and healthcare at $120k. We could probably spend less than this and still be reasonably comfortable.

I'm still learning about ACA but I'm also looking into health-share companies to cover medical costs (quasi insurance I guess). Company I'm currently reviewing is called Zion Health. Any horror stories about health-share or Zion anyone willing to share? I haven't seen health-share accounts mentioned on the site much. Appears more people are going the ACA route because of the subsidy.

Questions:

Are we in a place to punch out completely? Neither of us will have a pension or any other passive income. What I've listed about is what we've got.

I'm recently seeing info on I bonds. Can someone enlighten me on these and would they be an appropriate addition to our investments?

We have lots of things planned in retirement but we wouldn't be averse to part time work just to keep from being too bored and to cover a small percentage of our expenses. We, like many, have had enough of the rat race and would be willing to leave good paying jobs for a better quality of life.