Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Happy Birthday to me - I'm now 56
Old 12-17-2016, 05:10 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Happy Birthday to me - I'm now 56

Good Morning Gang,

My name is Michael and I am happily married and 56 years old (today.) The first thing I did this morning was to pay off the last $24K of our mortgage. We are now debt free. We purchased our retirement home (55 + community) a little over two years ago and we transferred our existing equity into this home, thus it was rather easy to pay down $50K.

As of today, I have set my prospective retirement date for December 15, 2017. So, 363 days to go. My wife and I have booked a Celebrity Cruise for December 16th to celebrate. I have been agonizing for the last two years of when I should retire and psychologically it just feels right to "seal the deal" at the end of this year.

Now here is the money part - you know, the stuff that we all worry about. Do I have enough?, do I need more?, What am I going to do?, etc.

Cash/Brokerage = $125,000
IRA = $475,000
Roth = $125,000

Over and above that, I will be receiving a monthly check beginning at Age 60 - in the amount of $2,600 per month (more than I spend now - and that is including making 1/2 of Principal payments.) I'm frugal as hell, so I have never been bothered with material things.

Now the wife is an over-achiever (RN) who works in a hospital - so I will piggy back on her health plan for three years ($300 month) until my retirement health kicks in, age 60.)

You know what my biggest decision is going to be..... Do I work at CPA firm exclusively during tax season to make a few extra bucks OR do I work at the local minor league ballpark as a Greeter/Usher during the summer months?
What a great problem to have

Looking back on my life, one of the most enjoyable experiences that I ever had was going to the ballpark with my father in Pittsburgh and watching the Pirates play baseball.