Join Early Retirement Today

heeere's...dogcliff (T-5 and counting)
Old 03-10-2004, 07:13 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

heeere's...dogcliff (T-5 and counting)

Thanks all...just for being here. In a nutshell, I have been a student of R/ER since leaving my USCG career (eight years in Kodiak!) of twelve years (sixteen years ago) for a more geographically stable Alaska Air National Guard gig (impersonating a GI M-F, plus a weekend warrior commitment). Soon to be 50 (June), and just under five years to 'nuveaux' Civil Service retirement (FERS), to be followed by Reserve Mil retirement check @ 60, SS @ 62 & 64 (the little woman's). Of the three spawn of my loins, only one remains at home; a high school Junior this year. House to be paid off in <5 years. Found FIRECalc to be most valuable in WAGing my way through different pensions kicking in at different times, as well as how well my TSP (fed 401K (5% match) (your tax dollars at work!) ) may fare over the years. Dory, I wanna be you when I grow up. The woman who lets me live with her (the little woman), an inlander (Minnesotan by birth (I'm only Minnesotan by marriage) ), has actually consented to considering a retire afloat scenario. Don't know whether to start SE (like yourself), or something closer (SAN Juan's?) Southbound sounds good after 23+ yrs in Alaska. Health insurance: I am most fortunate to have the opportunity to remain enrolled in Fed Blue Cross after I leave Fed service, and the Gov will continue to pay a 60% share (more of your tax dollars). Also entitled to Tricare (Mil) health insurance @ 60. DESPITE THIS I am concerned about the cost of health care for myself and wife, not to mention those not so fortunate as to have subsidized health care. Consider this carefully when you vote in Nov (the views expressed above are not necessarily those of the lill' woman, but I'm writing the post)