Hello

BristolBane

Recycles dryer sheets
I am a long time lurker to ER sites. I think I first encountered the idea at Motley Fool in the Retire Early Home Page message board maybe four or five years ago? Not sure... I don't subscribe to Motley Fool anymore so I've been popping in here every once in a while. Thought I'd finally say "hi".

I am 33 years old and I've been working in IT for 10 years now. I do database work for an insurance company. I'm married with no kids (yet). I have so far to go until FIRE that it's kind of depressing. A target age of 55 seems slightly optimistic :(

Anyway, I'll be plugging along with the rest of the worker bees and trying to squirrel some extra money away. Only 22 more years to go! :LOL:

Welcome, first off let me grill you for some details! ;)

Own your own home? What kind of mortgage (term, interest rate)

Other debt that you carry? interest rate on that?

How much are you saving per month currently?

I bet we can make 55 seem like a worst case scenario! :D

Hi laurencewill :) Thanks for asking.

Let's see about those details..

We just bought our house last September so we are in Year 1 of a 30 year fixed mortgage @5.875%. We plan to stay in this house until retirement.

We have a second mortgage at 7.2% because we only put down 5% and had to borrow the other 15% of the "down payment". This loan is amortized for 30 years but a balloon payment for the balance is due after 15 years.

We have no other debt besides these two loans. Both cars are paid for and the credit cards are paid off every month.

We both work and contribute 6% to our 401ks so that we receive the maximum match of 3%. So we've got 9% of gross saved off the bat. Our 401ks are pretty much our only savings. We have a little over $100,000 combined.

After expenses we have about $2500/month to save or spend.