Join Early Retirement Today

Hello!
Old 06-23-2006, 07:16 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Hello!

Hi, everyone!* I just found this site today and joined immediately!* I am 59, widowed, no kids.* I plan to retire next June when I turn 60 (not exactly "early", but then, I really enjoyed what I do for a living).* I should have close to 600K accumulated through IRAs (mine & my husband's), 401K, SEP IRA & TSA, plus investments.* I currently receive a small pension for life from my husband's employment (he was in law enforcement) which is enough to pay my mortgage plus a little more, and will collect my own state pension when I turn 60, plus SocSec.* He was retired USMC LtCol, so I have military health insurance (Tricare) plus base privileges (commissary, PX, etc.).* My house (condo) is almost paid for, and I have long-term care insurance in place.* My investment planner says I shouldn't have to worry about "living on cat food" in my old age (I'd rather feed it to my cat!), which is all I really care about.* I plan to work part time through a temp agency (partly to finance my wanderlust and partly for social reasons), where I can accept or refuse assignments depending on my travel schedule.* *I don't have anyone I need to pass anything on to, so whatever I have left when I depart this life goes to my church.

I like what I see so far on this site, as it offers information based on real life situations and experience.* I plan to check back often for new information.* Thanks!
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!