Join Early Retirement Today

Hello, Atlanta pharmacist checking in
Old 06-08-2020, 06:35 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Hello, Atlanta pharmacist checking in

Hey guys, I'm rezz. I just discovered this community by chance. It's a perfect fit for me because I love personal finance and I want to become financially independent. I don't really have anybody to talk to about this in my personal life because my methods go over their heads. My goal is to at least semi-retire within 15 years.

A little background... I'm 31 years old and single with no kids. I've been working as a retail pharmacist for almost 5 years. I started off making around $110k but I've gotten several promotions and regular raises since then. I paid off my student loans (~$180k) extremely quickly because I'm uncertain about the future of this career.

Income:
$175k projection for 2020 ($153k salary and bonuses at main job + $20-30k at a prn hospital gig)

Assets:
$40k cash
$88k in stock brokerage accounts
$120k in cryptocurrencies
$88k in 401k plans
$53k in free company stock (8% of pay annually)
$8k value of car

Liabilities:
$2k for credit card that I use for cash reward bonuses. I pay off the balance each month.
$70k personal loan @7.45% interest. Long story, but I was stupid and took out a huge loan in 2018.

Monthly budget:
$1700 personal loan repayment
$1000 rent for 1 br apartment
$400 groceries and eating out
$150 utilities
$121 car insurance
$80 gas
$100 miscellaneous
I also spend about $5000 a year on a couple of big domestic and international vacations. Probably not happening this year though.

I don't have a set savings plan outside of my 401k paycheck deductions. I usually spend a big chunk of money on stocks or cryptocurrency when my cash reaches $70k or $80k. I think one big thing I'm missing is an IRA but I'm not sure how I'd benefit since I wouldn't get a tax deduction.

Please feel free to ask questions and give me advice.

rezz is offline   Reply With Quote