Join Early Retirement Today

Hello from Arizona. Help me figure this out!
Old 09-27-2007, 10:17 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

I am 55 year old male and desperately want to put an end to my 9-5 routine! I am a senior professional and have worked in big business for about 30 years. I already took one step aside from 2003 to 2006 when I left big biz to pursue a long standing dream in another field. It did not quite work out, so I stepped back into the grind in early 2006. The step back in was at a lower salary, but I am only interested in benefits and 401K. I had a lot of fun trying to pursue the other career, but it was just not as financially lucrative as I had hoped.

I currently have about $1.05million in retirement savings and an additional 60,000 or so in cash, US Savings Bonds and the like. I contribute the max amount to my 401K including the over 50 catchup. I am single with 2 wonderful adult (29 and 31) daughters who as of yet have not let on that they are expecting an inheritance from daddy! I live a pretty frugal lifestyle, a 6 year old car and a 13 year old Jeep. I have no debt other then about 58,000 left on the mortgage.

My goal was to hold out until I was 60 and then do the occasional part time consulting work in my profession (Human Resources). But tonight is Thursday and I would love to walk in to the bosses office tomorrow afternoon and say, "I think I have had enough!" I have been thinking about that for awhile but again I was planning on staying on the job, getting benefits and maxing out the 401k contribution. So , I am not prepared for my sudden urge to cut 4-5 years out of my earning curve.

Fidelity is my 401K carrier here at work. I have about $24K in that account and the rest is in an account with Merrill Lynch.

I tried the FireCalc calculator and ranged anywhere from about 55% to 100% success based on my inputs. I need to dig around that some more to determine how it works.