Join Early Retirement Today

Hello from London
Old 05-04-2015, 09:48 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Hello from London

Hello,

I have been reading this forum's wealth of knowledge for about 6months now, and I thought I'd sign-up and introduce myself.

I am fairly new to the concerpt of LBYM and early retirement. The birth of my first child 2 years ago was an epiphany.I realized that savings & retirement weren't going to take care of themselves.

My partner and I were in our early 30s, we suddenly got shocked that despite having earned high income for years (both work for S&P500 companies), we never really saved up much. Up until 3 years ago, I owned a Porsche, a mahogany speedboat, harley etc... It horrifies me now, thinking about it - but hey, it was part of the process to realize we'd gone too far (mainly me with the toys). When we found out we were pregnant, it was a wake-up call and something clicked in our heads.

I started to do a lot of research and stumbled upon MMM and then this website, which was (still is) a true source of inspiration. I put up the toys for sales, scraped all our meager savings/investment and bought a house in central London (where we both live currently).

We now have a second kid on the way and are determined to FIRE within the next 10years - with a stretch plan for 2022.

Our situation:
I am 35 and DW 33, we have a 2y/o and another one due this august.
We went from a $280k networth early 2012 to $1.8m as of today. This dramatic increase was driven by a combination of significant increase of income, paying down debt, appreciation of our real estate investment and strong appreciation of our employers' stock grants.

NW broken down as follow:
- 70% real estate ($2.5m house - with a $1.3m equity)
- 10% pension account (tax deferred)
- 15% taxable investments
- 5% cash & equivalent