Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Hello from the great white north
Old 01-04-2014, 07:50 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Seeing that we are going to have a daytime high temp of -17 degrees below 0 today I thought it would be a good time to chime in here and introduce myself. My wife and I are both 41 years old with no kids and I am a complete newbie here. I/we have been investing for a number of years with no direct plan but I have always followed the advice of my dad who taught me to go to bed with more money than I woke up with everyday. It appears that most of you people are very well versed and educated on the subject and I am a little embarassed about the lack of my own knowledge in this area. I wont even try to pretend that I can speak at your level. With that being said I need a little help, or ideas, advice, opinions on how I am doing on a potential early retirement. I thought we were doing pretty well but after a meeting with two different financial planners and getting simular feed back I was dissapointed to say the least. They both had us slated to work full time for at least another 20 years. I thought that the outlook was a little better than that. Or perhaps they both just want me to keep funding their lifestyles.