Hello from the icebox!

Twize

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hi,
Just discovered this forum after reading Live more Work less. Going to be semi-retired starting next month. I'm a self employed mechanic and looking to cut back to 2-3 days a week for more free time. I have plenty of work but will be cutting ties with one of my biggest clients to help free up about 2 days. I love what I do, but at 47 my body does not. Back and knee problems frequently take the wind out of my sails but I don't want to do anything else, I hate desk jobs. I built our house out of pocket, and besides a few pieces of trim, it's done and paid for. I don't have mega-savings to carry me until I hit 67? when I can use my regular retirement investments but I do have a military pension and VA disability compensation that covers all our living expenses.
So the plan is to continue working for my best customers part time, for disposable income and keep contributing to our other retirement accounts. The additional free time will allow me to pursue my hobbies, spend more time with my family, take better care of myself physically, and help other disabled vets.
I kinda feel guilty about cutting back, due to my work ethics. I've been working since I was 12 and had to earn every penny I got. However, I want to do something more with my life besides work like a lab rat in an exercise wheel until I'm all used up. Anyways, sorry it's long winded. What say you?

Welcome aboard! Plenty of military and govie retirees here. I'm retired Army myself. What ice box? I grew up in ND. Never returned other than to visit. Way too cold. Best to enjoy your free time while health permits. Keep us posted!

Best to enjoy your free time while health permits.

+1 Perhaps the most important and concise distillation of all of our 20,000 threads over all the years.