Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Hello--newbie here...
Old 05-27-2016, 10:09 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Hello--newbie here...

Hi everyone- We are new to this site. I just found this only a week ago. I've been reading and finally decided post where we are today. Let's me say, we are not close to retirement. We paid off a lot of debt last year.

Let me be honest, my own retirement is not enough. I only have $50K in my 457 & Roth. I can collect pension early at 55, much higher at age 63. Most likely 63 is the best age to retire. I stand to collect around $60K maybe $70K a year with cola. I also plan to collect SS at 63. My wife will have pension at age 60. Her pension is maybe around $4000 a month w/cola.

So here's our information.

current age 47, her 40.
Our combined income $193K. Our taxable income $157K last year.

This year, we are putting:
36K - Tax deferred Account
5500 - ROTH(contributed fully)
15K - EE mandatory pension contributions
$22K - ER pension contributions
$78,500

Our investment profile: 70% stock Index/International, 20% bonds, 10% REITS

Retirement balance 457 & 401K (no match): 380K Fidelity & Vanguard index
Emergency fund:$30K MM
Brokerage $5K Wellington Fund Vanguard
Home Value $333K

Our kids age 10 & 12 years old (son is special need)

Our only debt is our mortgage: $218K (15-year fixed 3.3%) Refi last year. Payment $2000 a month (PITI). Total monthly expenses $6500 a month include our mortgage.

Our current dilemma. Max retirement 457 & 401K + ROTH or Pay off the home + increase into taxable savings. We do not have much in savings since we plan to use some of that to do some home renovation in few years. I drive a beater to work that will need to be replaced in few years as well.