Join Early Retirement Today

Hello, so glad to have found you all!
Old 04-28-2005, 08:42 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Hello, so glad to have found you all!

I am so glad to have found this site (and the Retire Early Home Page). It's good to know that there is a supportive community of like-minded people.

I was going to wait until I had time to compose a brilliant letter of introduction but I find that there are discussions I want to participate in NOW so you will have to suffer through the rough draft.

I am 31 and my goal is to retire at 50 and I KNOW it can be done! I watched my parents LB(their)M always! And dad retired at 51. They have always been, and continue to be, an inspiration to me (and my two sisters). I could (and have and will) talk about my parents and their lessons for hours but some more about me...

I am a family physician. I have found that many people think that doctors are rich. While the income IS good (once you get there) - basically, you start late and with a lot of debt.

Here's my personal chronology:

1974 - I am born and spend the next 18 years soaking up the frugal mindset and lessons of my frugal family. (definately genetic - maybe that Scottish ancestry you read about in "The Millionaire Next Door")

1992 - Go to Penn State with a full tuition scholarship - stretching the college fund $, working summers for $ and credit in the Bio lab and doing the research for my honors thesis, and since I had to pay living expenses anyway, talking summer classes...

1995 - Graduate from Penn State one year early and start Medical School

1996 - marry husband - acquiring his Student Loan debt BUT he works overtime and I am doing Work Study at the medical school library and we live well on little $