Hi, after two tries at retirement I'm back to work

Poke-N-FL

Confused about dryer sheets
I tried retirement at 62, lasted 7 months, then again at 66, lasted 7 weeks. I have have concluded that I love the work I do with the senior living industry. I am a consultant to senior living sponsors of not for profit retirement communities. I contract my services to a firm based in the Carolinas. My wife and I have merged families - 6 children, 8 grandkids - and live in Florida.

As a self employed contractor I am interested in stashing away as much $$ as possible in the next three years (yes, 70 is it for sure!). I am most interested in exploring the how-to's of setting up a 401(k) for myself to shelter income during that time. Any thoughts will be appreciated.

Graduated Oklahoma Military Academy (66) and Oklahoma State University (69) and am a huge Poke Fan - hence the user name. Also former Marine (63-65). Good to be onboard!

There is nothing wrong with doing what you want to do even if you get paid for it. The question is: Are you financially independent? Would you do what you are doing if you didn't get paid? It sounds like you would.

Stashing away as many $$ as possible . . . well . . . that may be a different issue.

I take it you are self-employed. If that's the case then you can shelter up to $22k per year from the (employee) side. The employer (you) can then shelter an additional 25% of your income (up to $49k total deferral).

If you have a high income you could theoretically shelter up to $71k per year in a self-employed 401k plan.

there are a number of mutual funds and different websites that can help with setting this up.

here is a link to Fidelity's website on this topic:

https://www.fidelity.com/retirement/small-business/self-employed-401k

Hi,