Hi - dreaming of leaving corporate America

Tracker

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello everyone.

I have been lurking for several weeks. I am a 40 year old woman, living in the midwest, married with no children.

I live in a mid-sized midwestern town. My husband and I are both law school graduates, although you probably would not guess this when reviewing our tax returns. It's been my experience that the general public believes that a law degree is the ticket to financial bliss.

I graduated from law school in the early 1990's The employment situation for the legal community at that time was dire, and competition was very steep for positions paying in the $30's minus healthcare benefits. (***I did not graduate from a "top law school", although it has a decent reputation) I could not find employment as a practicing attorney, and I had $38K in student loans that were expecting payment. I happily accepted employment at a major corporation in a quasi-legal environment. (my job does not require a law degree, although some of my co-workers do have a law degree others have other education) Since I have never "practiced law" my employment options at this juncture appear to be limited. I did pass the bar exam upon graduation, and I am licensed to practice in my state of residence.

My employer does offer a small pension, and I have been saving in my 401(k) plan for the all of the years of my employment. I am a saver, but I will readily admit that I do not have the level of sophistication for financial matters that I should. Husband is a year older, also working in a quasi-legal capacity with a 401(k) plan, but no pension.

I am majorly burnt out with my job.

I am looking for encouragement and direction. I am aiming to retire at 55. Without saying my salary, which is not very high, can someone review my assets and tell me if I am on track?

Here are my assets:

$29K employer sponsored pension
$167K my 401(k) plan (50% bonds / 50% stocks)