Join Early Retirement Today

Hi from Alabama
Old 02-03-2013, 04:25 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Hi from Alabama

Hi All,

If you are wondering I am Auburn and my DW is Alabama.
Football season is intense at our house.

I am 55 and I worked in IT for 30+ years, my DW is 54 and she has
been a homemaker for most of our marriage (36 years!). We have 2
grown children both graduated from college with no debit and are now married.
Our home and 15 acres in a rural community of north Alabama is paid off.
We have vacation property at the Alabama Gulf Coast and it is paid off.
All of our toys (RV, boats, car, trucks, ect.) are paid for. I have run
FIRECalc and it shows 0 failures for 30 years using a conservative stock ratio.
I have tracked our expenses in detail for 3 years now so I have a good
understanding of what we are spending and it has come in handy now that I’ve been
laid off from megacorp 12 months ago. I saw it coming for years they were
sending more and more work Offshore so I had time to plan for it. We are on a
budget of 52,000/year and it has worked well so far and we finished 2012 under budget.
I have Cobra Health Insurance until August then I have to find Health Insurance
for 4 months until Obamacare starts. Health Insurance is the scary part of ER.
House Divided is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!