Join Early Retirement Today

Hi, I am 29 and on a mission to succeed after this recession.
Old 09-09-2014, 02:13 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Hi, I am 29 and on a mission to succeed after this recession.

Hello all. I am a 29 year old professional mariner. I work on ships for a living and enjoy my vacation time sailing around the Great Lakes and technical scuba diving.

Although I was lucky enough to take my fathers advice and open a Roth IRA when I got my first job when I was 15, I made some very poor decisions in my early twenties. Anyways, after the economy tanked in 2008 and I went from working 60+ hours a week down to 16, I decided I needed to do something with my life. I took on a substantial amount of student loans and began attending a maritime academy in the fall of 2010. I graduated in January this year and immediately went to work. I now have a great job and expect to make well over 6 figures my first year out of school. I am now on a track to make up for my lack of financial responsibility in my younger years. Some things I am currently doing include:10,000 emergency fund, maxed out 401k, maxed out HSA, maxed out Roth and paying off student debt at an extremely fast pace while I drive my beater Honda accord, and live in my Grandma's basement.

I look forward to reading and learning on this forum and getting my finances on target.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!