Hi, I am MusicalFIRE

MusicalFIRE

Dryer sheet wannabe
I am new to this forum, but have been investigating FIRE for about a year and half now. When I first learned of the concept of retiring early I was immediately attracted to this idea. I am 33 and currently working a day job as a bank accountant and auditor. My initial thought and plan was to work for about 10 more years, save a ton, drive expenses down, then retire early.

However, my husband and I have a side hustle as a performing musical duo. We love doing this and it has been lucrative as a side hustle. We want to do more of this, but I have a hard time doing too much more than we are already doing on top of my full time job. Although my day job is lucrative and could get us to complete early retirement in about 10 years, I am unhappy in this job, and with both of us being musicians, I don't think we will ever truly "retire" in the sense that we do not have any income. We will always want to play music, but we don't ever want to be financially struggling musicians.

After a while, the concept of financial independence, rather than early retirement seemed to be a better fit for our goals. Maybe like a hybrid early retirement where we know we can count on at least a part time income. Has anyone out there retired early or become financially independent to pursue a passion that they knew would bring income? If so, how did you plan for this?

A few other tidbits about me: I have an education in music and business, I love reading and learning about business strategy, I love all things yoga/fitness/wellness (becoming a yoga instructor is on my bucket list!).
Any input in greatly appreciated!

Welcome.