Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Hi...I'm new...thoughts on downsizing to make retirement possible
Old 08-06-2007, 10:06 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Hi...I'm new...thoughts on downsizing to make retirement possible

Hi...why I'm so nervous about posting for the first time, I don't know...maybe it's because I usually read this late at night when my mind is not as sharp?
Anyway, my husband and I are considering retiring early in the next few months. He's had a tough time with downsizing, and then finding work because of a non-compete clause he signed with a job after being downsized. After 30 years of loving my Real Estate Profession, I am just beginning to resent the crazy hours, and time it takes out of my life. It is partially my fault though. I allow this, but don't know any other way of giving my clients the best service. Unless I have someone cover for me 100% and I go far,far away with no phone or computer, it is always with me.
I am 56, my husband 55. I'm not really asking if we have enough money, as I've figured it out backwards and forwards, and we'll probably be fine IF we sell our present home and move to an area where housing and the cost of living is less, meanwhile investing the equity not spent on the next house.
I'd love to hear from someone who has done this, and if it worked well for them. I am ready for something different and more adventure in my life. If we stay where we are living now, I doubt I could ever stop working, as I have many referrals after all of these years, and I don't think that I would be able to turn down the business.
I'm thinking that I want to perhaps reinvent myself somewhere else? Don't get me wrong...I don't dislike who I am...just would like to experience other sides of myself that are yet undiscovered!
Our kids are mostly on their own...we are helping our daughter a little while she's in graduate school, but have less than two years of that left.